Jesus and the Angry Babies

Every once in a while, my husband and I join a few local artists at a drawing group that meets every Friday morning on the campus of Brigham Young University (BYU).  It’s a nice little creative getaway from our kids; plus, we get to mingle with some of our favorite Utah artists: Caitlin Connolly, Fidalis Buehler, and Brian Kershisnik, to name a few (all of whom, by the way, are incredibly down-to-earth people with extraordinary artistic talent).

safe_image

After teaching Brian and Caitlin how to fold paper boats (thanks to paper boat folding knowledge I had gleaned from a Curious George book I had read with my daughter a few weeks ago – long story), our little artists group enjoyed a fine lunch at nearby Mountain West Burrito (I LOVED my veggie burrito – excellent fare – I highly recommend it).

Later that day, I was perusing Brian’s website and found some gems.  I love how he captures moments of life and motherhood in his art.  This is one of my favorites, “Jesus and the Angry Babies”.  Because babies will be babies, no matter who is holding them.  And also, sometimes you just want to toss your children onto someone else, especially when those children are driving you crazy with their antics or annoying each other to no end or throwing fits of irrational rage.  Who better to throw your angry children at than Jesus?  I can think of no one else more patient or loving, especially towards angry babies.

1169095_1407201229528586_226399247_a

I like this one, too, which portrays how I feel as a mother sometimes.

climbingmother-brian-kershisnik-e1384441817270

Mr. Kershisnik has a great talent for putting moments and feelings on paper.  Please peruse his work here.

12022_Nights_Impossible_Burden_3014

Leave a Reply

